Posted on Jan 7, 2019

The Legacy Group, Ltd.

Financial Designations:

Have you ever wondered exactly what those initials after a financial professional’s name mean? You’re definitely not alone. The easy way to tell is to visit the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, which provides a list of professional designations and what they mean. Below, we’ve created a short list of some of the frequently used designations and what they mean.

AAMS – Accredited Asset Management Specialist – AAMS designation is considered an industry benchmark specifically designed for new asset managers who focuses on individual and small business clients.

APMA – Accredited Portfolio Management Advisor – APMA designation is for those that focus on portfolio creation and maintenance.

ATA – Accredited Tax Advisor – Typically CPAs, ATAs must have five years of experience in tax preparation, compliance, and planning in order to obtain this designation offered by the Accreditation Council for Accountancy and Taxation.

AWMA – Accredited Wealth Management Advisor – this designation is for those that focus on services exclusively for their high net worth clients.

CCFS – Certified College Funding Specialist – those holding a CCFS designation will need to be a licensed professional in securities, insurance, or accounting, or hold other financial certifications.

CEP – Certified Estate Planner – to obtain this designation, a valid license in the legal, financial, or tax profession is required.

To find out about CFPs, select "Learn More" below.
Contact Us
Message sent. We'll get back to you soon.